On November 7, 2014, the Columbus Metropolitan Library Foundation will hold their 22nd annual Celebration of Learning! Check back for more details.


Wil Haygood - Celebration of Learning 2013

On November 1, the Columbus Metropolitan Library Foundation held another fabulous Celebration of Learning! In addition to hearing from award-winning author Wil Haygood and recognizing our Julian Sinclair Smith award honoree, Tanny Crane, we raised over $500,000 to support Columbus Metropolitan Library!

A huge thank you to our fantastic planning committee, led by co-chairs Reneé Shumate and Sheila Smith, for putting together our best Celebration of Learning to date and to Lynnda Maria and Steve Davis for serving as honorary chairs for the evening. We also thank Wil Haygood for captivating the audience with stories of not only his experiences as a journalist, author and associate producer, but also about his childhood spent growing up in Columbus and developing a love of reading and learning here at Columbus Metropolitan Library. Mr. Haygood’s story perfectly encapsulates what we strive to accomplish every day for each child who enters our branches.

Finally, a special thanks to the sponsors and donors who made the evening possible and contributed over $500,000 to the Columbus Metropolitan Library Foundation. For 20 years, proceeds from Celebration of Learning have supported many key library initiatives such as Summer Reading Club, Homework Help Centers, and Ready for Kindergarten. This year your support will help rebuild and renovate libraries designed to meet the needs of 21st century learners.

Student Event with Wil Haygood

The morning of Celebration of Learning, 600 central Ohio high school students come to Main Library for a lecture, Q&A and book signing with Celebration of Learning author and Columbus native, Wil Haygood. This special engagement was made possible with support from our Presenting Sponsors, Nationwide Insurance, Battelle and The Ohio State University, and through a grant from the New Albany Foundation. Lunch for the students was generously provided by Donatos.

2013 Celebration of Learning Committee

  • Renee Shumate
  • Sheila Smith
Committee Members:  
  • Carol Andreae
  • Jeri Block
  • Melissa Bow
  • Linda Brown
  • Laney Burgdoerfer
  • Caryn Covelli
  • Lynnda-Maria Davis
  • Kate Fischer
  • Bonita Griffin
  • Silvia Hansell
  • Chris Johns
  • Jennifer McNally
  • Katharine Moore
  • Beth Morgan
  • Deborah Neimeth
  • Anne Partridge
  • Tracie Ransom
  • Cindy Rasmussen
  • Lynne Redgrave
  • Kathryne Reeves
  • Corde Robinson
  • LaDonna Solove
  • Susan Stockmeister
  • Roberta Terapak
  • Jackie Wells
  • Greer Williams

Sponsors as of: April 2014

2013 Julian Sinclair Smith Award

Tanny Crane

Tanny Crane has long modeled the attributes of lifelong learning through her involvement with organizations and institutions that focus upon and instill in young people today the value of public and private education. Among the many organizations she has been involved with, she currently serves as board president of I Know I Can and is a member of the Columbus Education Commission and Learn4Life board. Her countless hours of service, coupled with her never-ending passion and enthusiasm, have made her a positive voice for education in our community.

Her commitment and thoughtful advocacy to enable and provide resources so that children are ready to succeed in school and in life will continue to have a positive and enduring impact on our community well into the future.

Tanny serves as President and CEO of Crane Group.

2013 Honorary Chairs

Lynnda Maria and Steve Davis

Lynnda Maria Davis has been a library “lover” and supporter since childhood. From her first visits to the now historic Pullman Public Library in Chicago to raising funds to build the Mission Viejo Library in California, she has actively participated in maintaining and building library systems across the country. As a member of two book clubs, Lynnda is an avid reader.

Lynnda Maria has served on the Celebration of Learning committee for several years, serving as co-chair in 2009. That year the event set a new financial record raising over $220,000.

Steve Davis has served as chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Bob Evans Farms Inc. since 2006. He serves on several local boards including the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute Foundation. In 2007, he served as chair for Operation Feed.

2013 Celebration of Learning

Celebration of Learning 2013
Featuring Best-Selling Author Wil Haygood

2013 Celebration of Learning